SDMB 2013 Year in Review

11-8-2013 Update

Yetman Wash Trail Work Days Announced.

The much anticipated Yetman Reroute is finally happening!  Please join SDMB for upcoming work days in November, December, and January.  SDMB will provide all the tools we will need, but please come dressed for a day outside, bring work gloves, and make sure to bring water and snacks.  We will provide lunch for after the work days. The dates of the work days are:

  • Sunday 11/17/13
  • Saturday 11/30/13
  • Sunday 12/15/13
  • Saturday 1/4/13

All work events will run from 8:00am to 12:30pm with lunch following.  We will meet at the Sarasota Trailhead off of Kinney Rd and hike in from there. Parking is limited so we encourage you to carpool. Please RSVP to trailsteward@sdmb.org or the Facebook Event by the Wendesday prior to the work day to make sure we have lunch for you.  See everyone out there!

Bikes & Brats Recap

This year’s annual Bikes and Brats was the largest turnout yet with over 35 people – some camping, most riding, and all eating and relaxing.  SDMB supplied brats and snacks for all and wooden stunts for the kids to get ‘big air’. Catalina Brewing Company and Cirrus Visual Communications were on hand to supply some adult beverages after the ride.  The weather was perfect, especially with the overnight sprinkles, and the ride was as good as it gets.  If you have never camped at and/or ridden from the Catalina State Park, it is a must do. Try it out someday soon, and be sure to come out to the Bikes and Brats next year – same weekend on Nov 1/2!

National Trails Symposium Recap

A letter from Matt Nelson, Executive Director of the AZ Trail Association sums up the Symposium quite well!

THANK YOU for being part of the Arizona Trail mobile workshop as part of the Partnership for the National Trails System conference. I couldn’t have imagined a better day to be out on the trail, with an inspired group of people that are key players in the management of trails around the nation. I heard very positive comments from everyone about their time on the Arizona Trail, and what YOU brought to the experience. So thank you.

Today was more than just a hike or a ride – it was an opportunity to show other trail associations, land managers, and young people who are going to be future leaders in this industry what we’ve been able to accomplish by working together. It’s the thing I am most proud of about the Arizona National Scenic Trail, and the fact that we had equestrians, hikers, and mountain bikers sharing the same trails today is proof that it works. It’s one thing to talk about it; it’s another thing to see and feel it in action.


10-14-2013 Update

October Last Saturday Ride – 26th – 50Year & 27th at Butterfly/Crystal Springs

Brian is going to lead a kid’s-friendly version. If you’d like to get a more difficult and/or longer ride in, feel free to come on out and do your thing. Meet at the Golder Ranch parking area at 8:15, feet in pedals at 8:30 or so. For those wanting a bit more gnar, Zach is leading a Mt. Lemmon Butterfly/Crystal Springs ride on SUNDAY the 27th. Meet at LeBuzz at 7:00am or the Butterfly Trailhead parking at 8:00am.

October Trail Love – October 20th – Bug Springs

Another great Trail Love Event coming up on Sunday, October 20th. We will be going back up to Bug Springs Trail to continue addressing erosion issues after the monsoons and improving corners, maximizing flow, and keeping the trail generally awesome. Meet at the Le Buzz parking lot at 7:30 AM with clothing and gear appropriate for a day in the sun.  This time some of us are planning on working all day, so make sure to bring a lunch if you want to join us.  There will also be the option to work until lunchtime, then hike out. This will be a family friendly work event – some of us will be bringing the kids and there will be hosted hike so the parents can enjoy some adult time on the trail. Please let us know if you are interested so we can plan accordingly – your kids are responsible for their own water and snacks/lunch. As usual, SDMB will provide the tools but if you have a favorite McLeod or Pulaski you want to bring, go ahead.  Email trailsteward@sdmb.org to RSVP or ask questions. Looking forward to seeing folks out there!

Bikes and Brats! – November 1-3 – Catalina State Park

Save the Date: November 1-3 at Catalina State Park. Typically we camp over on Fri and/or Sat, ride 50yr Sat and/or Sun am (official ride leaders and schedules TBD, but casual rides will occur amongst the campers). Due to the Bike Park Workshop on Sat the 2nd, the official ride will be Sunday am with a BBQ around noon (time can vary depending on temperature to allow for a cooler or not so early ride). This is a family friendly event, there will be a hosted kids hike involved so parents can go ride. Stay tuned here and TucsonMTB for more details as  the time gets closer.  Hope to see you there!

Bike Park Workshop – November 2nd

SDMD and IMBA, with assistance with Pima County Parks will be putting on a one-day workshop on bike park and pumptrack development. You can download the Bike Park Summit Schedule for more details. There will be a social ride on Friday, November 1st at Starr Pass, starting at 4:00, and then meeting at Tap and Bottle at 7:30ish for refreshments.


9-18-2013 Update

September Last Saturday Ride – September 28th – Sweetwater

Meet at the Sweetwater Trailhead at 7:00 AM. From Silverbell and Camino Del Cerro, head West on Cmo Del Cerro, then South on Tortolita. Tortolita deadends at the Trailhead. We will plan on riding everything out there, for a total of around 12 miles. This will be a mellow XC ride, beginners welcome. No one gets dropped.

September Trail Love Corps – September 21st – Bug Springs

Please join us for the SDMB September TLC Day on Saturday, 9/21/13. This month we will be working on Bug Springs to do some tread work and stump removal to repair damage done by the monsoons. If we get enough volunteers there will be an option for a crew to ride it top to bottom, brushing as they go.

Meet in the Le Buzz/Safeway parking lot at Tanque Verde and Catalina Highway at 7AM. Please bring snacks, water, and appropriate clothing for trailwork. Post-work beverages will be provided.

To RSVP or ask questions, email trailsteward@sdmb.org.


7-10-2013 Update

July Last Saturday Ride – July 27th – Two Options

There will be two options for the July 27th Last Saturday Ride. Read on, and we hope to see you at one of them! Option 1: Mt. Lemmon loop, approx. 15 miles, several thousand feet of climbing.  Some technical spots on the trails, but nothing that can’t be walked.  Plan for a 4-5 hour ride.  Social pace, no one gets dropped.  Plenty of bail-out points. We will start at the Sunset Trailhead and ride a loop that includes Sunset Trail, 1918 Trail (both ways), Bigelow Road, Bigelow Trail (through Palisades), and Secret Trail.  Most if not all of the climbing is on road and dirt road, and all of the descending is on singletrack.  Meet at Le Buzz at 7:00 to carpool or the Sunset Trailhead at 8:00.  RSVP if you’re coming so we can keep an eye out for you.

Option 2: For those who can’t get to the mountain we are offering a ride at the Golder Ranch trailhead on the 50-Year trail for a cool nighttime alternative. This will be a great beginner and kid friendly event. Brian will lead a kids ride toward the chutes and Bert will take a group around someplace – it really just depends on who shows and what kind of an adventure we want to go on! Meet in the lot around7:15 PM – sunset is at 7:30. It will be a dark night with no moon so have yourself set up with some good lights. Post ride socializing supported by CBC.

July Trail Love – July 13th – Aspen Draw

Please join SDMB for our July TLC day on Aspen Draw Trail on Saturday, July 13th. We will be doing some erosion management and tread restoration to make sure the trail is in the best possible shape as the monsoons roll in. SDMB will provide the tools, although if you have work gloves, pulaskis, or mcleods please bring them. Make sure to bring appropriate food, water, and clothing for the day, and remember that monsoon weather on the mountain can be unpredictable Meet at Le Buzz at 6:30, or at the parking area at the top of the ski lifts at 8:00. Please rsvp to trailsteward@sdmb.org so we know you’re coming.

Parks & Pedals Recap

Thank you to everyone who came out for the Parks & Pedals event! We had well over 60-participants, and a great time was had by all. A special thank you to Chris at Cirrus Visual, The Saguaro National Park, and the Arizona Trail Association for organizing and putting everything together.

SDMB Board and Board Meeting

The proposed SDMB Board is shown below. Currently all positions are running un-opposed. Keep an eye out for public/club open election in the near future. The next Board Meeting (all are welcome) will be held on the Third Monday in August at 6pm, at Cafe Passe.

  • Zach MacDonald – Pres
  • Brian Vance – VP/Secretary
  • Bert Ehrmann – Treasurer
  • Evan Pilling – Advocacy / TLC
  • Cat Green – Events
  • Todd Sadow – Corporate Liason
  • Graeme Hunt – Marketing, Comm, IT
  • Lee Blackwell – Advocacy / TLC / AZT
  • Chris Eaves – Advocacy / Youth Outreach

Don’t Forget to BE NICE

A Friendly Reminder from the Forest Service: Please Play Nice with the Hikers on Mt. Lemmon. Robert Walters at the Forest Service informed SDMB that there have been several negative interactions between mountain bikers and hikers on the Aspen Draw Trail in recent weeks. For those of you who haven’t ridden up there, Aspen Draw is a fun and technical trail that is easy to shuttle, in addition to being a very pretty trail to hike, so it sees heavy use by both the mountain biking and hiking community. Please make sure to ride responsibly and under control, and give hikers the option to take the right of way. Be friendly and pleasant when passing. When you see equestrians, offer to get off your bike when passing or being passed. And make sure to be nice to the donkey lady and her donkey. SDMB has been making significant strides in our relationship with the Forest Service, and the fact that they are calling us about this is proof of this. Thank you everyone for riding responsibly and respectfully!


6-12-2013 Update

Pedals and Parks – Cycle Saguaro – June 22nd – 8pm

Celebrate mountain bikes in Saguaro National Park (Rincon District) by joining us for this special event highlighting the Hope Camp Trail. The trail was recently opened to mountain bikes and in order to raise awareness for this AZTrail link, Saguaro National Park is hosting a night ride during June’s full moon. We will ride from the Pistol Hill area to the Camino Loma Alta trailhead. After ice-cold beverages are enjoyed we will return to fire up the BBQ for post-ride festivities. RSVP to Chris at chris@cirrusvisual.com.

SDMB Board Meeting – June 17 – 6pm

Come one, come all to hear the latest about mountain bike advocacy in the Tucson region. We’ll be meeting at Cafe Passe (415 N. 4th Avenue). Hope to see you there!

SDMB Adopts Bugs!

It’s Official! While SDMB unofficially adopted Bug Springs Trail on Mt. Lemmon, the Forest Service officially gave us the “thumbs up.” We look forward to partnering with the Forest Service and continuing to develop a great relationship with them. Keep an eye out for future trail days on Bugs.

June TLC Recap

Thank you to everyone who came out for the National Trails Day – June Trail Love on Aspen Draw. We had a great turnout and spent our time rebuilding a crib wall and making access over the known “step up.”


5-27-2013 Update

National Trails Day – Saturday, June 1

This coming Saturday, June 1 2013 is National Trails Day. Volunteers all over the country will be joining up to go and give their local trails some love.  Please join SDMB for a service project on the Aspen Draw Trail on Mt. Lemmon, in coordination with other events facilitated by REI and the Southwest Conservation Corps.  We will be hiking down from the top to a spot about halfway down to rebuild a crib wall at the big rock step-up.  We will work until lunchtime, then join the larger National Trails Day/Southwest Conservation Corps crew for lunch.

Meet at Le Buzz at 0630 to carpool (look for the SDMB flag), or at the parking lot at the top of the Ski Valley lifts at 0730.  Bring water, food, and clothing appropriate for a day on the mountain.  Remember that the weather can be unpredictable up there. RSVP to trailsteward@sdmb.org by the morning of 5/29/13 to get your lunch order included in the numbers.

If folks are interested, there may be shuttles after the work event. Click here for more information about National Trails Day and other local events. Hope to see everyone there!

May TLC Recap

We had a great turnout for the May TLC at Hope Camp in Saguaro National Park. Thank you to everyone who participated. The Arizona Trail Association organized, and SNP Rangers facilitated. We hiked in 1-1.5 miles, moved many tons of rock to fill in a couple large areas of erosion back-cutting the trail, and re-vegged the area to encourage folks to stay on the singletrack.


5-7-2013 Update

SDMB Needs YOU!

How can you help make mountain biking in Tucson better? Join SDMB – a Chapter of IMBA, share and lead a ride sometime, participate in our monthly TLC days, help with tabling at special events such as Cyclovia or the bike swap, help with fundraising, organizing events, or just be a part of the discussion. Whatever your interest and expertise, we can use your skills.

The bulk of this work is done by a handful of volunteers who also have jobs, families, and other obligations. We are always looking for new people to step up. In order for SDMB to become more than it is now, to do more and be more effective in achieving what we all want – for Tucson to be a mountain bike destination with world class trails and features, we need you to join in the fun. We are always looking for new folks to get involved. If you or someone you know might be interested, contact us for a meeting to discuss ways you can help out SDMB and the mountain bike trails community.

Cinco de Mayo Recap!

We had a great turnout for our Cinco de Mayo Aspen Draw shuttle and Picnic. Thanks to everyone who came out, and a special thanks to Chris for the great photos!

May Last Saturday Ride – 5/25 – Bigelow to Molino

May LSR 5/25 – Mt. Lemmon Bigelow to Molino:  Meet at Le Buzz at 7:00, carpool to Molino Basin parking area, and shuttle to the top of Bigelow at the radio towers. Start riding at 8:30 – Kellog Mtn Trail, Incinerator Ridge, Green Mountain, Bug Spring, and finish with Prison Camp to Molino. This will probably be 4 hours (+/-) on trail depending on group size. The ride is a difficult 4-D type ride with tough climbs at higher elevation, lots of technical challenges (e.g. big/loose rocks, ruts). There are a number of bail-out points along the route to hop back on the highway if time is an issue. RSVP to our Facebook Event, or let Zach know you’re coming.

May Trail Love Day – 5/11 – Hope Camp

For May, we are partnering with the ATA, SNP and the other mountain bike groups in town to do some work on the newly opened Hope Camp Trail. Please join us on Saturday, May 11th at 7am at the Camino Loma Alta Trailhead. Lunch will be provided at 11am. Dress prepared and bring water. RSVP with Matt Neslon at matthew@aztrail.org.


4-26-2013 Update

Cinco de Mayo Ride and Potluck – Sunday, May 5th

Last year’s SDMB/TucsonMTB Cinco de Mayo Ride moved from the traditional Sweetwater location to Bug Springs and Molino picnic area to beat the heat as well as the piñata. This year we are going higher. We are going to ride Aspen Draw. And picnic after at Inspiration Rock. We will meet at le Buzz at 8 to coordinate rides. Shuttles (or if anyone wants to pedal up…) will start from the base of the run in Summerhaven at 9. We will do as many as we can until noon, and head down to Inspiration Rock picnic area for a potluck picnic. SDMB will provide water and drinks, some snacks, and bagels for pre-ride. Everyone else is to bring a dish or snack, or salad or etc; something that doesn’t need heating up of course. Let Brian Vance know if you are interested, and what you can bring. Happy Cinco de Mayo!

SDMB Micro Grant 2013

Once again, SDMB is proud to offer a $1000 grant available to Pima County residents and organizations with the intent of bettering the local biking community. All projects will be reviewed and rated according to guidelines established by the SDMB Grant Committee. Applications are accepted by mail only, and must by postmarked by June 30, 2013 in order to be considered. Applications will be reviewed and the winner(s) will be notified by July 31, 2013. Download the Application Information Sheet here.


4-23-2013 Update

April Bug Springs Trail Work

Thanks to everyone who came out and helped us clean up some of the Bug Springs trail. Here are a few photos taken of the before and after:


4-5-2013 Update

SDMB & Cyclovia Tucson – April 7th

Who’s ready for another fabulous day with car-free streets between downtown Tucson and the City of South Tucson? Bring your walking shoes, roller skates, or bike to the event and be prepared to see Tucson’s streets like never before. Got some bike-handling skills? Try them out at SDMB’s Obstacle Course! We’ll be located on 23rd Street and 4th Avenue. Hope to see you there! For more Cyclovia information, see their website.

GABA 4th Avenue Bike Swap – April 14th

It’s time for the Spring 2013 GABA Tucson Bike Swap. Sunday, April 14, 2013 from 7AM through 2PM. It’s four city blocks, closed to car traffic in Tucson’s lively Fourth Avenue district, centered at the corner on 5th Avenue and 7th Street! SDMB will have a booth so come by, say “hello”, find out more about our events, and purchase some really great SDMB shirts, hats, jerseys, and socks!

April Trail Love – Bug Springs – April 20th

Our April Trail Love will be taking place on Mt. Lemmon on our favorite SDMB adopted trail: Bug Springs. Come prepared in work clothes, gloves, and water. We’ll meet at LeBuzz Cafe at 7:30am to carpool, and we’ll hike in from the lower trailhead.

April Last Saturday Ride – April 27th- Sweetwater

Not riding the Whiskey? Then why not join SDMB for April’s Last Saturday Ride. If you’re not heading up to Prescott then meet up with our ride leader Bert at the Sweetwater trail-head for some modest paced loops on one of our favorite local systems. Saturday April 27th, 8:00am.


3-19-2013 Update

March LSR – “Into the Tortolita Trail system: from the backside!”

Join SDMB on Saturday March 30th as we do an out and back ride into the Tortolita Trail System – from the back, er, east side…

This ride starts at 8:30 from the windmill parking / trail-head near the west end of Rail X Ranch Road (headed west off of Oracle Road at the North end of the town of Catalina, just before Saddle Brook Blvd).  The road off Oracle is dirt but easily passable by passenger car to the parking area.  You can’t miss it, turn west off the highway and drive toward the Tortolitas…

From our starting point there are several options to ride.  We might break into groups, but the main group intends to do the steep climb up the jeep road then drop into the east end of the inner basin of the Tortalita Mountains.  If you have not been into this area before it is well worth the effort – it is a Sonoran desert wonderland inside that mountain range…  Anyway, we will do an out and back, venturing 5 to 10 miles out to the current point of constuction on the connector trail, near the top of Wild Burro (above the Ritz).

Please EXPECT for this to be an adventure – depending on your skill level and fitness, it could could be a tough ride.  Although we would never leave anybody behind all riders are expected to be self supported.  This trail leads into remote country and there is no water available.  If it is a good spring day it will be warm – have appropriate equipment, wear sunscreen and bring plenty if not extra food and water!  The trail is mostly XC with a lot of good climbs and technical challenges tossed in to keep you on your toes.  Probably 3 to 5 hours on the trail depending on events –  it is work to get into those mountains then work to get back out, but again – well worth the effort.

This should be a good one – hope to see you there!

March Trail Love

TLC crew Martin, Max, Max, & Luong working the Tortalitas (TLC Director Evan took the shot). Turns out, the grey, drizzly day made the trails awesome to work on. Thanks!

 


2-26-2013 Update

Sonoran Desert Museum – Buffelgrass Removal on Sunday, March 3rd

2:30 – 4:30pm. Bring sturdy shoes/boots, long sleeves and pants, hat, reusable water bottle, gloves if you have them, shovel or pick if you have them. Meet at pull-outs K-18 and K-19 along Kinney Rd. To get there, take Speedway/Gates Pass Rd. over Gates Pass, turn right onto Kinney Rd. at the T intersection, heading toward the Desert Museum. Drive about 1 mile. You will pass McCain Loop Rd. and the Brown Mountain picnic area. If you reach the Desert Museum, you went too far. Staff will carry cell #334-5978, but reception is spotty in the mountains. Please try to carpool as parking is very limited. Please RSVP directly to Sonya at the Desert Museum via email at snorman@desertmuseum.org.

Trail Love Corps (TLC) – Sunday, March 9 – Tortolitas

We will be working wtih Martin Adriaanse to help him finish up a few projects up there he has been working on since the summer. To get an idea of the work that Martin and others have been doing up there, see the thread on TucsonMTB. Meet at the Wild Burro Trailhead, 15000 North Secret Springs Drive, Marana, AZ at 8:30 AM. Lunch and refreshments will be provided after the trailwork, so please RSVP so I know how much lunch to order.As always, please bring appropriate clothing and water to be working outside in the sun for several hours. Hope to see everyone out there!


2-1-2013 Update

MTB Park Input Needed!

There is a new bike park opening in Tucson called Xtreme Fun Spot. They are open to building MTB-specific trails and features, and input is needed to help them understand what MTBers want. Apparently the best way at this point is to go onto their facebook page. If you are interested in providing input and getting more MTB-park style riding in Tucson, please take a moment to post up on their facebook page.


1-22-2013 Update

January Last Saturday / Trail Love – 24 Hours in the Old Pueblo Course

It’s our monthly LSR ride – and this time the “S” is for “Sunday”! So, do you still need to pre-ride the 24 Hours in the Old Pueblo course before race day? Just want to get out for a day of fun? Then join SDMB this Sunday at the 24HOP Start/Finish area for a day of riding and socializing. Meet for carpooling at the Safeway shopping center at Ina/Oracle at 9:00AM, or if you want to drive separately, meet us at the Start/Finish area (NOT the Willow Springs Arch parking lot) at 10AM. Remember to display the State Land Permit! The SDMB EZ-UP will be set up as a “base camp”. From there, the group will ride the course, or if you’re super familiar with the area, we can venture off to explore the infamous Painter Boy or Bones trails.

What SDMB will provide:

  • Hibachi, charcoal and some basics (burgers & dogs)
  • EZ-Up

What riders need to bring:

  • Other food for the hibachi
  • Favorite recovery beverage
  • The family, for a fun day on the trail.
  • State Land Permit!

Take a look at our Past through our Year in Review pages

^ Back to top ^

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

twelve + thirteen =